In The News
History of The Field
Before Doubleday Field was used as a baseball stadium and community gathering spot, several individuals and business used the space that is now the parking lot for their businesses and personal use. The Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from March 1887 shows that, in addition to a wood shed and ice house, there were stables managed by the Lettis family belonging to the Central Hotel. Between 1894 and 1903, a small building was constructed at the Main Street entrance of the parking lot property. This building housed Mogavero’s fruit stand as well as Noyes Lunch in 1906.
In the 1910s, with growing interest to establish Cooperstown (and Doubleday Field in particular) as the birthplace of baseball, money was raised to purchase the field from the Phinney family… read more
Photo Credit: New York State Historical Association